Intermediate Spanish Learner

Hello! I’m a science teacher. Many of my students are learning English, and I wanted to brush up on my Spanish to be able to communicate with them more effectively. I took a few years of Spanish in high school and college, but I’m out of practice. So far, I’m impressed with Lingopie. Other language learning software I tried felt too simple and built for absolute beginners.

I’m currently watching children’s shows since I primarily speak Spanish with children, but I’d love to get into something more interesting to me personally. Are there any shows you enjoy? Something you might watch for the content even if you weren’t currently learning a new language?

1 Like

Hi! I am currently loving Oswaldo, and I probably would watch it even if I wasn’t trying to learn Spanish. It’s really funny, and I find myself laughing during a lot of the episodes. It’s super goofy, but I am in a place in life where I need that! And in fact, I like it so much that it’s prevented me from really branching out to other shows on Lingopie that much. I am already getting sad for when I finish all the episodes.
Also, since you are a science teacher, you might like “Drawing Science.” I watched a few of those and enjoyed them.

1 Like

I watch just about everything on Lingopie and that includes the cartoons. Oswaldo, Kitty No Es Un Gato, Boj seem to be some of the most popular. Those were my first and they are great. A couple of my favorite cartoons are Jamie’s got Tentacles and Pumpkin Reports, but I really love Julian’s World (La Comarca De Julián). The animation style, strong Argentinian accent and the music. A couple that I can think of that would be science related are Tour Around the Universe (Vuelta Por El Universo) and Zapata Science (Ciencia Zapata).